Cutting the mustard since 1825

Established in 1825. Renovated in 2017.

Taylors Mustard, the original and still the best, as made in Newport Pagnell

Taylors Mustard, the original and still the best, as made in Newport Pagnell

Taylors Mustard today, courtesy of  Calnan Brothers of Watlington

Taylors Mustard today, courtesy of Calnan Brothers of Watlington

The story behind the site

Taylors Mustard was formed in 1825 by William Taylor. Originally a chemist, Taylor developed his own unique recipe, a closely guarded secret, and produced the first English mustard to be sold ready prepared.

He moved into 34 High Street a few years later and founded his factory in Union Street, where Taylors Mustard was then made for over 170 years.

The factory under the auspices of William Taylor's sons, Thomas and Frederick James. As well as mustard, the factory also produced soda water. Black and white images courtesy of the  Newport Pagnell Historic Society

The factory under the auspices of William Taylor's sons, Thomas and Frederick James. As well as mustard, the factory also produced soda water. Black and white images courtesy of the Newport Pagnell Historic Society

taylors-mustard-factory-newport-pagnell-1a.jpg

Putting mustard back on the menu

The factory having closed in 1990, the site remained empty and abandoned for years, but still embodied so much of our heritage and history. Now the site with its characterful buildings and in its prime central location lives again, except as beautiful dwellings for you to enjoy living in.

old-mustard-mews-view-from-plot-3-alt.jpg